Thursday, July 31, 2008

Summer o'Fun Day 30 (2008)

Today, the boys and I went to the zoo and we met up with CraftyMama and her crew. It was a good day to walk around the zoo - cool with some sunshine.

Of course we arrived late and I was almost having a coronary because I get so stressed out when I am late. One of the bridges across the lake were closed due to the Blue Angels practicing across Lake Washington for SeaFair. Imagine any other city in the world closing one of their main highways (I-90!!) for 3 1/2 hours so some planes can practice for an air show?!

Anyway, we met up with Crafty and her family +1 and spent the day looking at the animals. The newest exhibit were a flock of Chilean Flamingos. Cars was most perturbed because "they only have one leg!". It took a bit to convince him that they actually did have two but preferred tuck one up under them when they were standing.


Here are the monkeys:


And the rest of the Zoo Crew (courtesty of CraftyMama):

Mariner's Offer No Peanut Section for Two Games

On Tuesday, August 5th and Tuesday, September 9th, the Seattle Mariners will be offering sections in a "peanut controlled" section. They will scrub down the seats before the game and will not be selling peanuts in that section or in the nearby concession stands during those games. Please show your support and buy tickets to the game! If this is a success, hopefully the Mariners will offer more games with a "peanut controlled" area next year.

http://seattle.mariners.mlb.com/sea/ticketing/no_peanuts.jsp

And, if you remember this ass? We'll he's done it again but about these two little sections during two games in the middle of the week up high in the nosebleed sections. He's still an ass.

Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Summer o'Fun Day 29 (2008)

Today, I watched Spy's kids for the day. My boys were soooo excited to have a full-day playdate. They played Lego, watched tv, played video games, ran around outside and rode Dex's Green machine and scooters. While we were outside (I was weeding, as usual), we saw a young stag walk down my neighbour's driveway. He stood and watched us for a few moments then walked up another neighbour's driveway then walked across their lawn and disappeared into the woods behind their house. So cool!

We also made "sculptures" using polymer clay. The boys had a good time trying to figure out what to make. Jax made a clown, Dex made a two-headed gorilla, Cars made a big pile of nothing (uh, he would say it was his "sculpture", Spy's youngest made a snake with a bum, her other son made a "guy" (her dd was not here at that time). Ash's ds was here then too and he was going to make Homer Simpson but decided on a donut instead. Anyway, I think they had a great time making them. I baked them and my kids will paint theirs later this week.

Ash's dh is away on business so she came over for dinner (Stephen worked late). We had fun poking around my garden and planning what to do with the big patch in the middle of my lawn (there used to be a tree but now it is a big stump). Anyway, we had pizza and "S'moreos" for dessert (S'mores made with Oreos - we invented it while camping a couple of weeks ago). Yummy!

We ended the evening with a Cosmo. Life is good. :)

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Summer o'Fun Day 28 (2008)

Again, not so much fun. We had rain for the first time in three weeks (well, it sprinkled for like 3 seconds on Sunday so that doesn't count). The kids and I just hung out at home again then we headed to Old Navy because they had a jeans sale on. I bought 5 pairs of jeans today for $55 (plus tax). Great deal!

The kids and I then walked over to Michael's for a few craft supplies for tomorrow (Craft day!). Cars fell and scraped his knee really badly. We bandaged it up and he kept saying "I need to walk this way!" and he hobbled around with this very exaggerated limp. It was so funny. (He was trying not to bend his knee so the band aid would not come off - not because he was hurt).

Today, I also decided to get off my butt and file to get my children their proof of Canadian Citizenship. I downloaded the forms off the Canadian government website then I had to get photos taken. I went to the photo place that Big Software Company sends all of their foreign workers for photos for the USCIS (which happens to be at the same mall as Old Navy) because the photos always have to be so precise. This is also the same place where I paid $25.02 for Canadian passport photos four years ago. Imagine my surprise when I found out that the Canadian Citizenship pictures cost $45 ($35 for kids under 5 years of age)! Outrageous! But I was stuck! I had to get them because this is the only place around that will do them.

Anyway, while I was waiting to pay, I noticed that the lady charged 1 @$45 and 2 @$35. How bad is it that I did not correct her? Maybe she did that on purpose because she felt sorry for me - paying an arm and a leg for my children's photos! Next, we have the filing fee for each of them ($75 each!). Please let the Big Software Company stock go up!

The biggest problem is that I waited until now to do all three kids' applications at the same time. I would not be complaining (well, at least not as much) if I had filed when each of them were born the co$t would have been spread out over five years rather than in one fell swoop. And, the cost 10 years ago (for Jax) most likely would have been far less than the $75 fee it is now. And, it was only a few years ago that they stopped accepting US passport photos for the Citizenship ID's so the cost of the photos for at least Jax and Dex would have been far less. No one to blame but myself. *sigh*

Then, this evening, as I was complaining to Stephen about the co$t of all it all, it dawned on me that his Canadian passport will be expiring in a few months so we'll have to get more crazy expen$ive photos taken again very soon! Yike$!!

Monday, July 28, 2008

Summer o'Fun Day 27 (2008)

A lazy summer day. We had no plans for the day so we just hung out around here. Dex set up his tether ball set that he received for his birthday. It came with a little ball and paddles as well as a larger tether ball to hit with your hand. He and Jax liked hitting with the paddles until...

Jax hit the little ball too hard and it broke off (it is the little yellow ball on the left flying towards the garden). Oops!

The kids also had a contest to see who could hold ice in their mouth the longest

(Jax won)


Usually, I let Cars walk around with my old Canon SureShot camera and he loves taking pictures and videos. Today, I let him use my Nikon camera and he took about 150 pictures (including the ones of his brothers above) and this one of me with my freckles and wrinkles.


Dex then wanted a turn and took a picture of the ice in his cup. I was expecting to have to delete it but it turned out pretty cool!


Anyway, I was thinking that today was not much fun but I think we all benefitted from the low-key day. We did walk to the library so I guess it was not a total waste. Jax and Dex received their prizes from the library for reaching their reading goals (they are surprisingly nice - Vivitar binoculars!). Cars has another few hundred minutes to go to reach his goal. Thankfully he picked a book out that we can read (he tends to insist on check out out Spanish-language books).

Sunday, July 27, 2008

A few photos:

Ready for the Star Wars Clone Wars Toys Midnight Release (oops, did not fix redeye)


Watching the motorbike demo at the company picnic


Pez Family Men


Kracken Attack at the base of Mt. Si!

Saturday, July 26, 2008

Today started off very early for the boys. At 11pm last night, Stephen woke them up to take them to Toys'r'Us for a special Midnight release of the new Star Wars Clone Wars toys. Last night, after I left Nordstroms, I drove my TRU and there were already about 10 people camped out in line. By the time Stephen and the boys arrived at 11:30, there were 50 and by the time TRU opened at midnight, well over 100 people in line to buy Star Wars toys.

Apparently it was mayhem when they opened the doors and all of these grown men rushed into the store to fill their carts with the new collectibles. I am sure some of them were buying them to resell later on eBay but many were getting them for their own collections. LOL Stephen and I joked that in 20 years that will be our sons in line. *yikes*

Jax, Dex and Cars made a bee line for the Lego and they each purchased one. Jax bought a big one that he had been saving up for ages to buy. Cars and Dex each bought smaller ones since they did not have nearly as much money as Jax. They also got free posters with their purchases. It was clearly not the same as the HP book 7 release party that we attended last year but still something that they were so excited to attend.

Sadly, no one slept in this morning.

Later today, we went to the Big Software Company's annual picnic. It was muggy and I ended up with a migraine. The lines seemed much longer than usual this year but the boys still had a fantastic time. We are almost at the stage though where the little kid rides are too small for Jax yet the big kid rides are too big for Cars (and some for Dex). I think next year we will have to split up for the rides and slides.

Friday, July 25, 2008

Summer o'Fun Day 27 (2008)

Today, Jax had a playdate in the morning (see Tuesday's post) while Dex and Cars just hung out here with me. I did some things around the house then a couple of hours after I picked Jax up, we headed to the skateboard park. I am very proud of how Jax and Dex are progressing with their skateboarding.

Here are some short videos of them at the skatepark (from Tuesday):
Jax
Dex
And here is Cars doing his own thing at the skateboard park (this video is a little longer and the camera was turned sideways - oops!)

After dinner this evening, I ran to Nordstrom's to get some LancĂ´me foundation . I have been in need of foundation for a couple of weeks but I had to wait until there was a "gift with purchase" because that is the only time I ever buy foundation. And I virtually never buy eye shadow because I just use the free stuff (except the one time when the the free eye shadow was a palatte of greens - ick!).

Nordstrom also has its Anniversary Sale on at the moment so I thought I would check out some bras. A couple of my bras are not fitting so well these days and I was thinking I was shrinking so I tried on a couple that were a cup size down and they did not fit so I had to ask for help (which I should have done in the first place). Now, I knew I was wearing an old bra but I did not think much about it when I got dressed this morning. The bra fitter took one look at it and started pointing out all the things wrong with it (puckered cups, stretched band and let's not mention that it used to be pink but is now a kind of greyish/peach) and then she told me I must throw it directly in the trash when I got home. Scolded by the Nordstrom Bra Fitter - how humiliating!

As it turns out, the girls are not shrinking but the old bra is just not doing its job. I mentioned to her that I had purchased two bras at last year's Anniversary Sale too and she told me that I must throw those ones out too. Now, does she not realize that bras are expen$ive? I mean, even on sale, they are not cheap and there are no gifts with purchase in the lingerie department! Of course, she was hoping that I would buy three or four (or 5!) bras right then and there to replace my raggedy old bras but I was doing no such thing. She ranted and raved about one particular bra that of course was NOT on sale and cost more than I have ever even paid for a pair of jeans - and everyone can see my jeans!. I did feel pressured though so in the end I purchased two ecru bras (does that sound better than "beige"?).

However, I now need to find a pink bra before September (I always wear a pink bra to my mammogram for good luck) because the used-to-be-pink one I am wearing will be in the trash momentarily.

Thursday, July 24, 2008

Summer o'Fun Day 26 (2008)

The boys had a playdate here with my friend's two sons. We originally had planned to go to the beach but overcast skies in the morning meant 60*F weather at 11am so we stayed home. The sun eventually came out and the boys went on the slip'n'slide.

This evening, I had to take a "Safety Environment" class at church to learn to recognize and how to report child sexual abuse. The class finished early so I came home to find my van gone (I drove the fast car). I went into the garage and the door from the house to the garage was open. Then I walked in the house and the sliding door to the deck was open as was the door from the kitchen to the deck and the front door. I retraced my steps and saw that in the bathroom, the medicine cabinet was open and so of course I figured there must have been an emergency and Stephen had to rush the kids to the hospital. I picked up the phone and dialled his cell phone. He answered and I hear "beep, beep, beep" in the background - the sound of a cash register. Stephen had the boys at at Target buying popcorn (he is addicted to the popcorn from Target's snackbar). OMG! It was sooooo urgent that they rush out of the house, leave all the doors WIDE open and not leave a note? Geez! Of course he scoffed at me for being alarmed but what if someone stole something? Like my computer? Or my camera? Or his TV?!

Anyway, besides being irritated that he left the house all open, I am miffed that it is past the boys' bedtime and they are at Target buying popcorn. Hrmph!

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Summer o'Fun Day 25 (2008)

Let's see what we did today:

1) Met friends at a Skateboard park (not the regular one)
2) Dropped off forms for school at allergist
3) Staples for more school supplies
4) Home for lunch
5) Swimming lessons and splashing in the pool
6) Farmer's Market
7) Mexican Restaurant for dinner
8) Sent two children to bed at 6:05pm for screaming in the restroom of said restaurant

One gets to come out in 30 minutes. The other is up there for the night and I have vowed never to take them to a restaurant again without dh present (this was made in a fit of rage and it is irrational and not well thought out. I'll have to figure out a way to have them "earn" it back). Cars is never, ever, ever allowed in the Men's room again until he is 6 years old because according to WA State law, he will no longer be allowed in the Ladies' Room. That's one year, one week and six days away. Plenty of time for him to learn to behave himself, right?

Edited to add that we had had such a great day. No fighting. They were all getting along so well (short of the occassional bickering that would erupt when playing with their Lego right after lunch). I don't understand why on earth they would YELL in a restaurant. I am horribly embarrassed. They know better than to do this!

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Summer o'Fun Day 24 (2008)

Today I took the kids to Target and Fred Meyer for some back-to-school shopping. Ok, we were really only shopping for school supplies since this is the week when they are on sale everywhere! Again, I did not have lists so I just picked up the things that I knew I would have to buy such as crayons, pencil crayons ("colored-pencils for you Americans), markers, rulers, erasers and Sharpies. Of course after I got home I had an email from Spy letting me know that the school has now listed the school supplies on their website. Oh well, back out again later in the week so I can hit Staples.

The kids also had a short playdate with some friends before we went out. And I am still de-camping our house.

I mentioned to Jax's psychologist about the friend thing and he told me that it was typical of kids with anxiety and OCD-like traits to be closed off from others and that by continuing to address those issues, it should help in the friendship area too.

One problem that we have is that when I invite one particular child over to play with Jax, he and Dex tend to buddy up so I need to coordinate things so that this kid comes over when Dex is away at a playdate. I'll work on that.

This parenting thing can be so complicated!

Monday, July 21, 2008

Summer o'Fun Day 23 (2008)

The boys went to their last golf lesson for the year. I did not sign them up for the second session which will free up our Mondays for other things.

It was a little sad though because Jax asked Dex to come with him in the 10 year olds group and Dex said he wanted to be with kids his own age. Jax was upset and said "You have friends everywhere so the least you could do is to be with me at golf!". It is true. Dex is very easy going and he gets along with just about everyone. Jax has a harder time making friends because he keeps people at arms length (literally and figuratively) as a way to protect himself from peanuts. He does not connect quickly with others but he does enjoy spending time with them once he knows that they will not tease him about peanuts and will also keep an eye out for them. He's a likeable kid - he's funny and likes to joke, but he does not let anyone get close. Anyway, I got a little teary-eyed as we drove to golf because I could tell he was hurt that Dex would not go with him. I noticed that his counselor had a brochure in the waiting room about helping teach kids to make friends so I think I will ask him about it tomorrow.

Sunday, July 20, 2008

S o'F Day 21 & 22 plus the weekend

We survived our camping trip! It got off to a very rocky start. The van was loaded down and we were packed to the gills. The bike rack was riding low and scraped on a curb after we filled up the van with gas. Stephen got all crabby. The van was so heavy that we seemed to have problems climbing the mountain pass. By the time we got to the state park, Stephen had already decided that we were buying (yet another) new car to replace the van. ~eye roll~

We also forgot a few key items (like a hammer to pound in the tent stakes, a slotted spoon and baby wipes). Stephen was keeping a list of all forgotten items and I was PMS'ing pretty bad so I took that list and the comments about the van very personally and it was not until Spy hit me with some seratonin-raising chocolate that I was able to calm down and decided that Stephen did not need some frying pan therapy.

The camp grounds/state park was wonderful. We were close to the beach but not too close. There was a playground the kids could play at and the roads were close together so cars drove very slowly which was nice because the kids were tearing around on their bikes.

It was also a "dutch oven" camping trip because as we were heading up, there was a burn ban in place but it was lifted for "designated fire pits" so we were able to gather around the fire and roast s'mores. But, we had planned all of our meals to be cooked in a dutch oven with charcoal or in a frying pan on the propane camping stove. Stephen made Mountain Man Breakfast and the kids ate it! Wow - they ate eggs! Well, except for Cars. Big step in our house since Jax recently outgrew his egg allergy and Dex swears that eggs give him headaches. Anyway, it was pretty yummy.

My kids had a fabulous time. They ate s'mores, rode bikes, swam in the glacier-fed lake (brrr!), rode horses (Stephen took them as I had a bad experience with horses when I was 13 and I don't ever have a need to get on one again), explored, got a kick out of the little store at the park (virtually everything cost $2.99!) and just had so much fun being kids. We are already planning to go back to the same park again next year.

Here are some photos of our trip:


Stephen made Dutch oven pizza. You will notice that is it not quite round. We had to cut off the portion because I dropped the lid of the dutch oven, scattering ashes all over the pizza. I burned myself on the charcoal briquettes when I picked up the lid. I am sporting a very nice second-degree burn on my knuckle. Anyway, the pizza was surprisingly good.


The lake at sunset on SoF Day 21.



Cars "body surfing" with a life jacket and a floaty on SoF Day 22.


Dex riding the waves.


Cosmo Friday at the campsite. In background - van that is the focus of Stephen's wrath.


Jax at the "secret place" at the lake.



Spy spying. ;)

One more thing I would like to mention is that there were signs posted about bear activity so we had to lock up virtually everything in the van at night - all of the food, sunscreen, bug spray, cosmetics, etc. Everything with a scent that might attract the bears so they would not come to the campsites. So, the last night there, Stephen put some hand cream on because his hands were split and raw (he always has dry skin but forgot his super-duper used-to-be-prescription-hand cream-but-now-isn't lotion and applied my Burt's Bees Honey hand cream. Honey hand cream and there are BEARS around?! OMG - what was he thinking? (For those of you not familiar with this hand cream, when you use it it smells as though you had just dipped your hands in honey). Fortunately, the bears were probably scared away by the super aggressive chipmunks. Whew!

Thursday, July 17, 2008

S o'F Day 21

Oops - missed posting yesterday (Day 20).

The kids had a playdate in the morning and in the afternoon, swimming lessons that I actually REMEMBERED to take them to on time. :) While the big boys were swimming in the lesson pool, Cars had fun swimming in the recreational pool then they all went into the hot tub for a few minutes before we left.

I was *that* mother today - the one who does not get in the pool with her kids. I was crabby (PMS) so I just let them swim while I watched them. At least I wasn't the mother who DROPS her kids who are far too young to be left alone at the pool and go for a workout (or perhaps I should have - would have improved my mood).

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Rats! Blogger ate my very witty (right) post.

Quick recap:

1) Shopped for more camping gear
2) Don't shop at Fred Meyer in Issaquah for the next 6 weeks in case you have to use the bathrooms which are being renovated or you will be forced to use the totally gross "Deluxe" Porta Potty trailer
3) If you try to force your almost 5 year old to use the totally gross "Deluxe" Porta Potty trailer he will insist that he can hold it until you get home and you will believe him
4) We made it home but underwear did need to be changed
5) While we are camping I will fall off the roof. So many more trips to bathrooms that are probably as gross as the "Deluxe" Porta Potty trailer :\

Monday, July 14, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 18 (2008)

Monday, so that means golf for the boys. When I picked them up they were all hot and sweaty - P.U.! I hope that means they had fun.

I spent my free time running errands for our upcoming camping trip. Yes, the Griswolds are going camping again. We have opted for a new location this year as Ocean Shores is always way too cold. We are headed to the other side of the mountains this time so that means hot, hot, hot weather. And dry conditions so no campfire! Yikes! We just found out today about the burn ban so we need to make some menu changes since we cannot cook a steak over the fire and I am not too keen on pan-fried steak.

One of the things on my to-do list was to buy a life vest at Fred Meyer and of course I picked on that did not have a tag on it. Then the cashier could not get anyone in the sporting goods department to pick up the phone to get the UPC or skew number and the lady behind me started huffing and puffing and G-R-O-A-N-I-N-G! I was initially embarrassed but then I thought it was funny and I almost laughed right in her face. Seriously, I was at the "About 12 Items" check out (with 11 items) for over 5 minutes. The poor cashier was calling and calling and paging and calling supervisors and no one would call her back or come over. Eventually, a supervisor did arrive and they figured it out but not before the groaning and huffing and puffing lady muttered to the man behind her "Of course I had to pick this lane!". I was thisclose to asking the cashier to give me rain checks for the crackers and liquid soap that they were out just to be spiteful but then I glanced at the "Complaint Free World" bracelet on my wrist so I skipped out of there. ;)

Ok, off to make dinner and then gather more camping gear.

Sunday, July 13, 2008

Misc

Dex's birthday party on Friday night/Saturday morning went well. Dex had a really good time though the boys did not sleep as much as I thought they might. Oh well, my kids slept in this morning and probably will again tomorrow.

Stephen is staining the climber today. We've had it for 4 years and it has faded a lot in the sun. Most of the stain has worn off the Gladys Kravitz perch. It should be looking new and fresh by the end of today. BTW, our new deck is higher than the GK perch as the backyard slopes down at the back so the porch is much better for looking around. "Stephen! New people are moving in the house beside us!"

I went to a friend's house last night for a girl's night Rock Band. I think we only played about 6 songs but I have four blisters and a callus on my fingers and hand from the drumsticks (Neil Peart, I am not). One is so big and it is right about my rings so I will not be able to remove them until it heals. Ouch!

In the paper today, I noticed in the ads that the school supplies are starting to go on sale. This year we did not get the school supply list for next year along with the report cards. Aargh! So mostlikely we are not going to know what to get until a few days before school starts when they meet their teachers or perhaps the school will send out a note on "Parent Organizer" which is an online message system that the school uses. With three kids now in school, I need to take advantage of the sales! Especially on glue sticks as in the past, I remember having to supply some ridiculous number for kindergarten - like 18! And they still ran out and asked for more later in the year! We also have to supply about 2 or 3 reams of paper PER CHILD because, again, a few years ago, the school ran out of paper. Crazy!

Friday, July 11, 2008

50 by 50

Last night at book club, one of the other members mentioned that she had started rowing at a local rowing club and that rowing was on her "40 by 40" list. Katie had a "30 by 30" list. Those are such great ideas! Sadly, those milestones have past me by so I started thinking about a 50 by 50 list. I did think briefly about making a "45 by 45" list but that does not quite have the same impact (nor does it give me enough time to accomplish them and why would I set myself up for failure before I even start?!).

So, a 50 by 50 list gives me a number of years to accomplish a many things that I have always wanted to do. I have started the list already and have a few things on it.

1) Run a 5k race
2) Learn to play the guitar (lessons start in the fall!)
3) Become an American Citizen
4) Take a road trip in an RV *

* Ok, I am pretty sure that this will never happen with my family since Stephen thinks this is a form of torture, but maybe I will do it with just the boys or with some friends. Road trip to Vegas, baby! ;)

So, not much of a list so far but it is a start.

Thursday, July 10, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 16 (2008)

After running errands this morning, I took the boys to the skateboard park later in the afternoon. I tried to get photos of them but their backs are always to me. Perhaps next time I will walk down onto the cement course and try to get better action shots.

Dex's birthday party is (finally) tomorrow. Only 6 weeks late. He is having a sleepover and they'll play Rock Band and watch a movie. I think it is a nice mix of kids so hopefully they will sleep!

I've got Book Club tonight. We will be discussing "The Last Lecture" by Randy Pausch. It was a good book and the lecture itself was very inspirational (check it out on youTube). Should make for a good book club discussion. I hope that P. has a book picked out for our September meeting (August we go out for dinner as a group)because I have nothing to read at the moment!

Wednesday, July 09, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 15 (2008)

Today, the boys had a friend over for a playdate and they played on the triple lane slip'n'slide and then had a grand time throwing ice down the slide of the climber. Boys! ~shaking head~

They then came inside to play xBox while we waited for time to go to their 4pm swimming lesson. The only problem is that the lesson was at 3pm and I did not realize until 10 minutes to 3! Whoops! I had no time to gather them together, drop the playdate pal off and get to the club so looks like we are out $ for that lesson. Shoot! I did call and leave a message but I am sure that the instructor did not get it before out scheduled swim time. I cannot believe that I totally mixed up the time for the lesson! Aargh!

Anyway, we headed to the skate park then and hung out until the Farmer's Market that is held at the city center opened. I bought some nice fresh veggies and the kids made a pinecone animal in the tent set up for kids' activities. The city has done a really nice job with this market (it just started a few weeks ago). They have a lot of booths selling fresh veggies, shellfish, breads, pastries as well as a lot of crafts (batik, pottery, jewelry, etc).

PEZ and Facebook

Facebook (I am up to 70 friends!) has a "SEND PEZ" application. How perfect is that for me? Yes, I am the annoying friend who is sending PEZ to nearly everyone of my friends. heh.

They have a nice selection of PEZ to choose from too. In my own collection, I have almost all of the PEZ that you can send with that application. I do not have Bullwinkle, the Indian, the Baseball PEZ (Dodgers or Giants - I have the regular baseball PEZ), the Tinkerbell PEZ (cool - I have never seen on before) or the Lost In Space PEZ. I think that one was only released as a Giant PEZ and I do not collect those other than the very few that I already have.

Our cabinet is virtually full so I don't know what I will do with further additions to my collection. Stephen is not loving the cabinet anyway as he thinks it is too full anyway and one cannot see all of the PEZ very well. He may be right but I do not like his idea of lining the walls of the living room with shelves and displaying them that way. Perhaps I need to pare down my collection? Just keep the ones that I really love. Or perhaps I should just buy another cabinet?

Tuesday, July 08, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 14 (2008)

It was a gorgeous day today so we headed to the beach at Lake Sammamish State Park. There were tons of people there today - the most I have ever seen there! The lake is still rather chilly due to the late arrival of summer weather but the kids did not seem to mind. Besides, they spent most of their time digging a hole (as usual).

I have two splotches of sunburn on my back where Jax missed with the sunscreen. This happens every year. :\ I also missed a spot on Cars' face so he has a red triangle-shaped sunburn under his right eye. Oops!

After the beach we all came home to shower before I drove Jax to his psychologist appointment. I wish we could take a break in his treatment for the summer. But perhaps if we keep going he will be done and won't need to keep going when school starts in the fall. ~fingers crossed~

Monday, July 07, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 13 (2008)

(Day 12 was July 4th)

The kids had golf lessons today but Stephen had to take them as I had my very own fun planned - my annual internal exam! I think I am finally ready to get that surgery that I have been putting off for two and half years for incisional endometriosis. I will have it done in Sept or Oct (depending on my cycle and I do not want to ruin Summer o'Fun!) to schedule the date. Doc wants it done mid-cycle so he can see the "cool blue bubbles" that sometimes form with endometriosis. He said it makes it easier to see and remove at that time of the month. (I almost gagged when he said that - kind of like when he cut away part of my old c-section scar and threw it in the garbage during c-section #2 and I only found out about it at my 2 week follow-up exam and Stephen asked him about it - ick-ick-ick!).

My internet connection had been super slow and very spotty today as was my phone service (internet phone). I was on the phone with Comcast for well over half and hour today trying to get things working. It is still painfully slow and I cannot not be sure that my connection will not drop again when I try to post this.

So frustrating. A week's credit on my bill for phone and internet may not have been enough to make me suffer through this!

Sunday, July 06, 2008

So the 4th of July party was not without its share of mishaps.

Problem #1
I did not hide the super soakers or barring that, ensure that they were completely empty of water. The kids found them and soaked everyone and while I was inside for a few minutes, someone turned on the hose and lots of kids got very wet. Oops!

Problem #2
I was trying to do two things and once, pulled a plate of the cupboard and knocked over a mug which fell against the cabinet door, pushed it open and dropped onto the plate which once belonged to my Nana (it was a wedding gift 80 years ago)!

The plate and the murderous mug:

Yes, the guilty party is a scrabulous mug.

I guess those really were the only two problems. We had a few small bickering from the kids when it came time to play "Rock Band" and one child had a headache. Otherwise, I think the party was a lot of fun - at least I had fun. :)

I think a couple of my friends who are gardeneres had a fun poking around the yard too. It has been fun exploring and seeing what has been coming up. I am so NOT a gardener because what comes with gardens is bugs and when there are bugs there are SPIDERS! So, I have been trying to tidy up the beds to make them look presentable but I am definitely not a huge hands-on gardener.

So, here are a few highlights to my garden that I can take absolutely no credit for whatsoever.

Raspberry patch


Lavender and lone stock of corn growing in wood chips by play structure


Strawberry pot


Compost "pile" which is really just a mound of dirt with lots of weeds and errant raspberries growing in it. Also, Japanese Maple that I bought to replace the one from Tabitha that Stephen accidentally killed with the weed whacker. :(


What I can take credit for are the carrots that are growing (finally!) and the snow peas plant:


Our pumpkin plants have finally sprouted too (no photos) but the spinach did not and the tomato plants died. I definitely do not have a green thumb!

Saturday, July 05, 2008

Wasn't that a party!

Our 4th of July party was great fun! After morning rain, it cleared up and became a very nice day - not too hot, not too cool - just right. Besides hot dogs and burgers, Stephen made some beer brats and lamb souvlaki and it was all so yummy. I think that everyone had fun.

Just before 9pm, three families (including us) walked up to the city center (about a mile and a half) to watch the fireworks display. It was quite a show! It lasted over 30 minutes. The kids had a fabulous time. I got a little choked up watching them watch the fireworks. They were in awe and I enjoyed the moment because I know one day that fireworks won't be able to compete with video games or the kids won't want to sit with us. It was wonderful.

Thursday, July 03, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 11 (2008)

The storms continued through the night and this morning. This is such a very rare event here. At least they keep telling us this. :) This morning as we were pulling out of the garage to go to Costco, the skies opened and we had hail almost a centimetre in diameter! Then that turned to a torrential downpour. I drove back into the garage for a few minutes then we headed on our way.

The rain and thunder have now stopped and we have just about everything I need for for the BBQ tomorrow.

The boys' fun for today, besides the trip to Costco, Trader Joe's and Safeway, will be a couple of hours of xbox time while I whip the house into shape.

Wednesday, July 02, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 10 (2008)

Today the boys had golf (which had been moved for this week only from Monday to today). I signed Cars up too and he had such a good time and he looked like such a big boy walking off carrying his little golf bag. I should have taken my camera!

While the kids were golfing, I had to take my car in to have my brakes inspected. It took over 2 hours for them to tell me what I already knew - I need new brakes. And new tires. I knew it was close to new tire time but apparently it is more desperate then I thought. So I have made an appointment to have the brake$ done on Saturday morning and I'll consider getting the new tire$ at the $ame time.

To add to our Summer O'Fun today, we had a huge thunder and lightning storm go through about 45 minutes ago. It poured rain, hailed and the thunder shook the house! I called Ash and we decided that Grey's Anatomy has cursed us with all the fake thunderstorms. We have had so many in the past couple of years. Or maybe it is Global Warming which has caused us to have this more severe weather (including a bazillion snowy days this past winter!).

Update at 10:25pm: We are now experiencing our third thunderstorm of the day. Exciting stuff (except that the power keeps flickering and the kids cannot sleep).

Tuesday, July 01, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 9 (2008) - Canada Day

Happy Canada Day! Canada is 141 years old! One day, I will spend Canada Day on the lawns outside of the Parliament Hill in Ottawa, joining in the festivities and watching the fireworks when night falls.

I was thinking back to when Stephen and I first made the decision to get married. We originally had planned to be married on July 1 as we would be guaranteed that everyone would have the day off work. We changed it when I realize that my bff would not be able to make a trip back to Canada at that time from the Middle East where she was working. So our next choice was Labour Day weekend.

Anyway, I just think that July 1 would be such a cool day to be married.

And for our Summer o'Fun today, we just hung out at home. Dex had a playdate with a kid from his class. This kid is soooo quiet - I haven't heard him say more than a dozen words!

Next we are heading to the party store to get some supplies for our 4th of July party. I need plates and then some prizes for kids for the games (Bingo).

Afterwards, we are off to Jax's appointment. He is starting to get resentful about going. I think he thinks he is cured. He is doing amazingly well but the psychologist said that the technique he is using takes about 20 sessions and Jax is only about 11 or 12 sessions along. Hopefully by the end of the summer Jax will be far enough along that he can stop going to counselling or at least drop it to every other week.

Monday, June 30, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 8 (2008)

We spent the morning going to Costco. I needed gas (it was 12 cents cheaper per gallon than the Shell station near my home) and to stock up in stuff for our 4th of July party. Of course I don't know what I was thinking, or rather NOT thinking, because I missed about 8 things on my list so it looks like I will have to go back later in the week.

This afternoon, we made Rose Art Super Shrink Art - (aka Shrinky Dinks though I guess that is a brand-name). The kids had a blast drawing and I got a super huge kick out of watching them shrink in the oven (they had lost interest at that point but thoroughly enjoyed the outcome). I guess you can use the plastic that berries come in for shrink art too but I haven't tried that yet.

Sunday, June 29, 2008

Boy for someone having a blog identity crisis, I am sure posting enough!

Today was HOT! I awoke with a migraine and spent much of the day in bed with the window air conditioner on. The kids slept in our room last night as it was the only cool room in the house. It seems a little cooler this evening so they are sleeping in their own beds with fans blowing on them. Let's hope that they sleep. Their windows are only cracked about 4" because I still worry they might fall out of them. I could probably let Jax open his a little more but then if I do that then Cars will demand that his be opened more too and then it will become a power struggle. The problem with Cars and Dex's room too is that their window has a window seat so it would be much more likely that they would fall out the window than would Jax. And, theirs is a straight drop down whereas Jax would fall unto a bit of the roof of the laundry room, and then perhaps roll off down to a one story drop. It is 2 stories from Dex and Cars' room.

Anyway, so hopefully it will cool right down tonight and hopefully I will not need to run the gazillion fans in the house.

Saturday, June 28, 2008

More New Pez

I've added some new PEZ dispensers to my collection lately. There are new Batman Pez, probably because of the new movie. Anyway, the heads on them are huge. I am surprised that they do not topple over.



So now I have 4 variations of Batman Pez. The oldest one says "Made in Yugoslavia", the middle two were "Made in Slovenia" (so they were manufacturered after 1991). The newest one is "Made in China" (I am guessing that all new Pez dispensers are made there - I need to look that up). The oldest one also has feet so I know it was made after 1986.



This is the one that came out approximately the time when George Clooney was Batman. Take a close look - this Batman has Clooney's lips! It also had wicked pointy ears - dangerous for kids!



I also saw these "Pirates of the Carribean" Pez for the first time today. The Jack Sparrow one is spot on! Will Turner looks nothing like him and Davy Jones was a CGI character in the movie so not hard to make the Pez look like him.

Friday, June 27, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 7 (2008)

Today, we were to meet a group of families from the food allergy group support/info group that I belong to at a park but there was some confusion about where exactly we were to meet and no way to identify anyone in the group. In the end we ended up chatting briefly with a couple of families. The area of the park we were in was PACKED (a new "water feature" was recently added and since it was hot today, eleventy billion people showed up) so we left. Hopefully we can meet with some families again sometime and that things might be a little more organized.

I do not post much on that board much since I found out that Jax's psychologist is a member. In fact, he posted on there yesterday (well, I am 99% sure it is him since only he signed only his first name but he suggested that children with anxiety can benefit from seeing a child psychologist and using biofeedback to teach calming techniques). I did, however, post a couple of weeks ago asking for opinions about what to do about Music Teacher and am very grateful for the advice that I received. But I am second guessing my decision to post, knowing that he has read it. What to do... hmmm... Hope he isn't reading here too! =:o

It is funny because part of me wants to be anonymous and of course part of me doesn't. Most of the people who read this "know" me online from a stay-at-home mom's forum that I started posting at in '00. Then of course Ramona reads here as I gave her the link and I gave it to one of my brother's too. The second brother found it accidentally when I forwarded something to him that had my blahg link it it (my 3rd brother does not read here and nor does my sister thankfully because then I would have a lot of editing to do). ;) Another reader is a friend from high school (we dated for like 2 weeks) and of course the very few others who read here because I read their blogs too.

Oh, and how can I forget Spy, who found my blahg after searching online after I mentioned that I had a blahg. Once, I accidentally posted a comment on Crazy Aunt Purl's blog with my real name but the link to this blahg. How I wish I could delete that comment!

Oh, and I cannot forget the ex-bf who found me via a Google search on his name. I mentioned in the "Bookmarks" post onceuponatime - I posted before blogspot became linked to Google so I never dreamed that his rather common name would ever come up in a Google search?! He read my post, saw my picture, saw Ramona's name and knew Pez was me. He did apologize for treating me so poorly after reading that post, so perhaps it was not a bad thing that he found my blahg. ;)

So I am not nearly as anonymous as I thought I was. I don't really worry about people stalking me or my kids but I do worry about hurting people's feelings. Hell, this is actually my second blahg - the first I wrote some mean things about someone on the SAHP forum and then felt badly, deleted my blahg and started fresh. I have deleted posts about my IL's and another friend because, while I do vent and probably say some things that might be hurtful, it is not my intention to actually hurt people which is why I "anonymously" blahg about them.

Anyway, I don't know why I am even typing this...maybe because I am thinking of closing or ending this blahg and starting over (again!)? And if I did that, would my new blog have a "theme" or would I go with the same blather that I do now? I don't know. And here we have yet another decision I cannot make.

I'm having a blogger identity crisis!

Thursday, June 26, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 6 (2008)

So I had some overripe bananas and thought it would be great summer time fun to bake banana bread. I had three eager sous chefs so perfect, right? Except that the recipe only calls for *2* eggs, and no one wanted to be the one to mash the bananas when they could pout over not being able to break an egg into the bowl. Then a very helpful sous chef decided it would be much easier for me if he HELD the measuring cup as I was pouring in the sugar rather than let it sit STILL on the counter.

Fortunately, the recipe called for 2 cups of flour so I used the 1/2 cup measuring cup so we each got to put in one 1/2 cup. And, 2 tsp of baking powder was again measured by the 1/2 teaspoon so there was enough measuring to go around. I had three mini loaf pans which of course meant that the sous chefs figured that there was one for each of them. Um, no. They were actually fighting over whose pan was filled more!

My blood pressure was up a bit but then I started to laugh about it all and thought that it was not worth getting all irritated. They really wanted to help and Dex even offered to wipe the counter afterwards (and he even was able to wipe up all of the spilled egg and sugar!).

They were thrilled with the outcome (who doesn't love banana bread?) and it made it all worthwhile.

The rest of the day was filled with me weeding and watering the garden and then suffering an allergy attack. I am definitely highly allergic to something in the garden. And I finally clued in that all my fatigue this past week has been from Benadryl. Doh! I was ~thisclose~ to popping some Zyrtec but I am still ticked about Dex's tics so I will not take it myself out of spite. What a crazy reason, eh?! Meanwhile I have $40 of the stuff sitting in my kitchen cabinet.

Tomorrow we are going to a park to meet some other parents and kids from the local Food Allergy support group. There may be another 10 yr old with a peanut allergy so I am hoping that Jax and he will connect. Oh, Dex wanted me to make him a new PEANUT FREE shirt so I should try to find my t-shirt transfer kit. Off to do that now...

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 5 (2008)

I took the boys to the skateboard park this morning and we were later joined by Spy and her kids. About noon we headed down to the newish park behind City Hall and three other moms and their kids joined us. It was quite a trek down to the park ( and a huge hike back!). The boys ran around after we ate lunch. The most fun they seemed to have had was cramming as many kids into the big Honey Bucket. GROSS!

We left there and went to swimming lessons. We were all planning to swim after Jax and Dex's lesson but I think the time in the sun today has tired us all out. As I type this, I wonder how on earth I will last another 3 hours until bedtime for the kids.

Summer is killing me! I am so tired. I did not get up today until 9am and here it is, 8 hours later and I am ready for bed again.

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 4 (2008)

Today we went to get the oil changed in the car today. What great fun! The kids sat in the car as I drove through at Oil Can Henry. We had great luck and I did not have to even wait for another car so we were in and out in 30 minutes. The kids played with their Gameboy/Nintendo DS and I read the newspaper and listened to the gas emissions from the guy checking the fluids in my car. OMG, I could not stop laughing. He was this huge guy and kept talking to the others about how the food at Jack-in-the-Box was no good then he would let out a little short toot for emphasis, I guess.

After that the kids played outside for a while then we all headed to the grocery store for dinner from the deli. We had not intended to do that but Stephen had to interview someone for a job so he was not going to be able to meet to take Dex and Cars while I took Jax to his appointment so we decided to go to dinner at Fred Meyer (the kids love the Mac'n'cheese).

Dex also worked on a 550 piece puzzle that he and Stephen started last night and he completed about 70% of it. They both are just finishing it up now. Dex has always loved puzzles.

Tomorrow we have some real fun planned. :)

Monday, June 23, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 3 (2008)

Today, Jax and Dex had their first day of the summer golf program at a local golf course. The program has changed a bit this year - you have to sign up for a 5-week session (every Monday) rather just come whenever you want. That's ok though. The kids are supposed to be five years old to play but apparently the age range is flexible. Cars told me he wanted to golf too so I will contact them to see if there is still room in the program and if he can join. A friend of mine is volunteering and Cars would be in the same group as her son so she will keep an eye on him. Three hours free for me on Mondays! Whoo-hoo!

Sunday, June 22, 2008

My brother and his family left this morning - it was a great visit. Lola is sooooo sweet and adorable. She loved going up and down and up and down and up and down (and up and down) the stairs in the house and she really seemed to enjoy the attention from her cousins. I hope to go to Vancouver later in the summer (probably just a day-trip with the boys).

I have not planned enough for Summer o'Fun so I must figure out what we will do for the week ahead.

Saturday, June 21, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 2 (2008)

Ok, cheating a little because this happened yesterday...

It was our annual tie-dye day. The cheap gloves that came with the tie-dye kit leaked!

When the pizza guy delivered dinner, he said "I thought you were supposed to have a green thumb, not finger! Guffaw!" I normally would have thought that was funny but I was annoyed that I had green digits.

Later, when it was time to rinse the shirts I have no idea WTF I was thinking because did not use any gloves (I rinsed them out with the garden hose) so now all of my fingers and MY HANDS are dyed blue!


But of course it was all worth it because the results turned out great!


And I made one for Lola too!


OMG she is sooooo cute! And she loves the boys so much and Dex and Cars are so enamoured with her too!



I wonder how long it will take for the dye to wear off my hands?

Thursday, June 19, 2008

Summer O'Fun Day 1 (2008)

I started off this morning with refusing to get out of bed until 8am. No reason other than I just could lay there until 8 so I did. It was actually closer to 8:10 since Ash called from Florida and we chatted for a few mins.

Shortly afterwards, I got a call from Jax (he had gone to a sleepover the night before) asking me to pick him up early because his stomach hurt. I think he was probably just sick from lack of sleep as he had not fallen asleep on Tuesday night until almost 11 and then last night it was after 1am. He was fine all day today but I can tell he is so tired.

Cars had his last swimming lesson today and he did really well. I will take him swimming at the pool more often so hopefully he can be without a belt soon.

The only real "summer" thing that we did was to register for the library's Summer Reading Program.

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

School's Out!

The kids got out at 11:30 today. We ate lunch at the park even though it was maybe 50 degrees. It wasn't raining. We stayed until 2pm then we rushed home to get ready for swimming lessons and a birthday sleepover that Jax went to this evening.

I think I am going to like their lessons now at 3pm rather than 4:30. The instructional pool was virtually empty and the pool with the lanes was too so the swim instructor had them swimming laps. I am sure Jax will sleep well at the party tonight!

Tomorrow is the first day of Summer o'Fun 2008. Nothing is planned really, other than Cars' last swimming lesson for the season (and perhaps the last at this place?).

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

School's almost out for summer!

Today was the last full day of school for Jax and Dex. And Jax bought his lunch! Whoo-hoo! This is a goal that we set back in January not long after he started seeing his counselor. He had purchased lunch two other times - once Stephen met him for lunch and once I met him for the family bbq but he hadn't purchased it on his own since the very beginning of the school year. He rocks! I am so proud of him. He was a little nervous when I told today had to be the day (I had been asking him every few days for over a month). But he did it and he said he was proud of himself because in the end he was not nervous. Hurray for Jax!

I *finally* spoke to Ramona for the first time in what seemed like MONTHS. She updated her blog too.

My brother and his family are coming for the weekend. I hope the weather is nice. And I hope that Lola doesn't like to eat Lego. It is everywhere in this house!

Tomorrow I have to run to Safeway in the morning to buy a gift card and flowers for Jax's teacher from the class. And I need to write a very nice note to Dex's teacher - she has been terrific this year plus when I asked her to put him in a particular class next year she did it (ssshhh! it is a secret). I just found out about it and there was a little glitch but I will trust her judgement when it comes to Dex and his education.

Our first Summer o'Fun thing will be tie-dyeing shirts on Friday. Let's hope the weather is nice (not counting on it really).

Monday, June 16, 2008

I met with the principal today and the meeting went well. I did not cry (my lower lip did quiver a bit though). I explained to her what happened and what the teacher told me and what he told Jax. I told her that Jax was shocked and uncomfortable. I never mentioned the word bully but she did. She said she would talk to the teacher and she would deliver Jax's note to him too. She kept going back to the peanut butter pancakes to clarify if the teacher had said this to me or just to Jax (it was just to Jax).

I am satisfied with the meeting and I do not really expect to hear back from her. The principal said she would use this example when training her staff next year about what NOT to say (without using Jax's name). I sent her an email to follow up and document our discussion.

These past few days have been stressful for me. I hate confrontation, even when I know I am right or it is for a worthy cause. I am not articulate when I speak. I flub words and get tongue-tied. I want to be a great advocate for my kids and while I know I am in my heart, it kills me that I cannot get these things across without so much anxiety and fumbling. Today I did better than I have in the past but still far from being graceful.

Sunday, June 15, 2008

Jax wrote a letter to his teacher (underlining is his):

Dear Mr. Teacher,

The other day when I told you why I couldn't leave my recorder at school in the tub and then you said "Wait, I smell peanut butter. Have any of you been eating peanut butter? Oh I love peanut butter". I 100% thought you were making fun of me. I felt shocked and annoyed that a teacher would do that. A teacher's job would be stopping that from happening. I've already had enough problems like that for the past couple of years with kids. I don't want to have problems with that from teachers.

I just wanted to let you know.

From,
Jax

* * * *

Nine years ago on Father's Day, my dad passed away from esophageal cancer. Thinking of you, Dad.

Saturday, June 14, 2008

I stopped by to talk to the principal yesterday about the Music Teacher but she was out of school yesterday so I have an appointment scheduled with her on Monday. Virtually everyone has told me to go to the principal, including 5 teachers/former teachers that I know and one retired principal (my mom called him to ask his advice after she told me that going to the principal would not do any good. She quickly called me back and told me to go!).

Yesterday we had our first Cosmo Friday in ages! No more for a few weeks again. In a month's time we will have one while camping. Wow - summer is just about here (except for summer weather).

Thursday, June 12, 2008

Tonight at school there was a 4th grade recorder concert (ouch - my ears!) run by the music teacher. Earlier today, after the kids had practiced, he asked that each kid leave their recorders behind in a box. Jax was concerned about his touching others or someone accidentally taking his so he told the teacher that he was not going to leave it behind because of his peanut allergy and someone might accidentally use it but he promised to bring it back for the concert. The music teacher, Mr. Music Teacher, said "I smell peanut butter". Jax looked at him and then Music Teacher told Jax and other kids who were standing around "I love peanut butter".

Jax told me this as soon as he got off the bus today as we were walking home. I asked him to repeat the story and as he did, I started seething. I was so friggin mad! So I told Jax that bullies come in all sizes and unfortunately, even teachers can be bullies. I said what Music Teacher had done was incredibly mean and unkind. I was shaking because I was so mad and I said that I would have Stephen talk to the teacher after the concert because I did not think I could control myself if I tried to.

By this time we reached the house and I decided that this could not wait until after the concert so I called the school (it was twenty minutes after school let out). I told the secretary that I needed to speak to the music teacher and he came on the line a few minutes later.

I told him that Jax had told me what had happened, and the man started backpedaling saying that he honestly thought he smelled peanuts and maybe it was just because Jax had mentioned peanuts (they were in the music portable so where would there be peanuts?!). Then he said other kids came over and said they liked peanut butter so he said he liked it too. He is so full of shit. I told him that Jax has had enough troubles with bullies and peanuts this year that he did not need to be bullied by his teachers too. He started gushing "No, that was not it! Really, I like Jax. He is a pleasure to have in class!".

So then I knew for sure he was lying because Music Teacher and Jax butted heads last year (I think I blogged about when Jax did "the worm" and shook the whole portable and the teacher yelled at him saying he had driven him over the edge). For a refresher, read here and here.

The teacher said he would talk to Jax and explain himself. After we hung up, I told Jax what the teacher said and Jax said that he did not think he was telling the truth.

After the concert (which Jax had a recorder solo - quite a surprise), I asked Jax if the teacher had spoken to him. Jax said the teacher told him that he had had peanut butter pancakes a few days before and was wondering if he could still smell it and that is why he said it.

Ok, so the man is so full of shit. I am angry now because he lied AGAIN. And of course he assigned Jax the solo just before they were to go on stage. Trying to atone for being an asshole, I guess.

At book club later this evening, I retold the story and one of my friends, who is a teacher, told me I should document this - send him an email and copy the principal. Stephen wants me to just drop it - that this guy knows we have his number and we won't have any more problems. I don't know what I should do.

Do I email or let it drop? What is reasonable at this point?

And this post is getting very long but I need to add one more thing...

I blogged earlier this week that Dex had a solo in the 2nd grade play and that the music teacher told me and Dex's teacher that he had volunteered for the solo but Dex told me he was assigned it. This guy has a history (in my opinion) of lying. That was perhaps a little lie but a lie nevertheless.
I have book club tonight. The book we read this month was Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See. OMG I love this book. But now I have a horrible fascination with Golden Lilies (aka Chinese foot binding). I keep looking up the gruesome photos of them on the web.

Before I get to book club though, I have to take Jax and Dex to swim lessons, then go directly to the school for the 4th Grade Recorder concert. I am really not sure when I will be able to feed the kids dinner! Or even get myself ready for book club. Oh and now it is time to meet the bus. Go-go-go-go!

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Monday, June 09, 2008

After school today, Dex's class put on a little play/song/instrument performance coordinated by the music teacher. It was really cute. It was Abiyoyo. After the play, they sang a song from Africa and Dex had a solo! I had no idea! Of course I did not take my camera today so no pictures or video of it. It was so sweet to hear him sing. The music teacher said that Dex volunteered for the solo but Dex tells the story differently. Either way, it was fun to see him standing up front singing his few lines (can you tell I am more than a little proud of him?!).

Oh, I was going to write more but we are having a windstorm and the lights keep flickering so I wanted to post this in case the power goes out.

Sunday, June 08, 2008

First off, happy birthday to my bff! (please update your blog!). I hope you had a great day, Ramona and cheers to a fabulous year!

Today, I planted some tomato plants, a sweet potato plant, snow peas and cucumber. None of the seeds we planted have popped up yet. I hope the garden grows! We certainly have enough rain for it. Some sun too but the temperatures are still very, very cool.

Dex finished up his baseball season this weekend with a jamboree (4 games, 4 innings each). I don't know what we will do with our extra time now. ;)

Saturday, June 07, 2008

I took the kids for their summer haircuts today. Yes, believe it or not, Jax did get one too.


So, summer haircuts but it feels nothing like summer. I think the high today was 51 degrees up here. And this was the depressing headline on the frontpage of the newspaper today:

"June gloom" - all through July?
Maybe there's a reason they call it "June gloom."

Brace yourself for lower-than-normal temperatures, rain and cloudy days this month, the National Weather Service says.

And don't expect a warm July, either.


Hold me. I'm freezing.

Thursday, June 05, 2008

Singing in the Rain

Yes, it is still raining and it is cold today but can you see the skip in my step and hear the song in my heart? Cars got into full-day kindergarten and I am so excited! I know others might be mourning the fact that their babies are off to kindergarten and I have heard several people tell me that they don't want to send their kids full-day so they can enjoy the last little bit of time with them before they are in school all day long.

Not me.

This is of course about me and not about him at all. I am probably a little closer to him than to the other two because I have had more one-on-one time with him than I was able to have with the other two. But, I am ready for some time for me.

It all sounds so very selfish, doesn't it? "Me time". I am ready for me time. I am ready to become me again.

Long time readers will know where I was when I started this blahg. For those who do not know, after Cars was born, I was diagnosed with postpartum depression. His birth was not easy - sure it seemed like a routine c-section and I had already had two so what was one more, right? However, during the surgery I felt as though I was burning up. I kept telling the anaesthesiologist that I was hot and he kept reassuring me that my body temperature was normal. I did not feel right. When we had walked into the operating room, we were down to two name - Cars and Cam. As soon as he was born, Stephen said he thought Cars was the right name. I was still leaning towards Cam but thought why not Cars since I am going to die right here on the operating table, Stephen might as well pick the name.

After I was back in my room, I still did not feel right. Stephen was pushing for Ez for Cars' middle name and again, I thought sure why not since I am going to die, Stephen might as well get what he wants because he will have to raise all three kids alone. These thoughts were so real and are (surprisingly) still so vivid.

The nurse removed my catheter but I was still not able to use pee (OK, TMI alert so skip if you want). I was told to try running the water, use warm water, and just be patient but I still could not urinate though the need and urge was there. All of those IV fluids they had pumped into me and I could not go! Finally, after yet another unsuccessful trip to the bathroom, I walked out and looked at the nurse who turned to talk to me and I thought "Why can't I hear her?" and I fainted. The last thing I saw was the panic on Stephen's face as he was holding Cars and on the telephone. He dropped the phone to try to catch me. Anyway, an ultrasound on my bladder showed that it was very, very full (nearly a litre). A catheter was quickly reinserted. The next day, it was removed again and I was fine.

The second thing in the hospital was that I noticed that Cars spit up an awful lot. I was on a bland diet due to the c-section but for some reason rather than just jello and juice, I was given ice cream and I did eat a lot of it. I don't know how I knew but I knew that Cars was allergic to milk while I was still in the hospital. I of course was very paranoid about him being allergic to peanuts but I was floored and overwhelmed about the milk allergy because it is in almost everything.

So, I cut milk out of my diet, including ice cream (which to this day I very seldom eat). About a month after he was born, school started and we had Jax in afternoon kindergarten and Dex in morning preschool. We lived in the car. I would pick Dex up from school (after maneuvering through the pot-hole ridden too-small parking lot and down the way too crowded hallway of the preschool with an infant and a kindergartener in tow), rush in the car to try to get Jax on the school bus. If we missed the bus (which was more often than not), I would either drive to Ash's house to have Jax get on the bus there with Gav or else drive to the school and wait around for 20 minutes or so for the bus to arrive. Oh yeah, during that time I had to feed Jax his lunch (before getting Dex), Dex his lunch (while we were in the car) and usually stop somewhere to nurse Cars. And the whole time, I would tell people that the transition from two to three kids was so easy. It was as long as I did not have to do anything but feed and diaper a baby. It kept getting harder when was awake longer and longer each day. Then only easy part of it was that Jax and Dex had each other and did not need me to entertain them.

At almost exactly three months after Cars was born, I realized I was in trouble. I had no motivation to do anything. I would feed and clothe my kids and myself but that was about it. Oh, I could still do laundry because I had to. Having a child who would go through 5-6 sets of clothing plus the umpteen number of bibs and cloths from spitting up made for tons of loads of laundry. I would count the minutes at the end of the day until Stephen would get home. And while co-sleeping always seemed so easy, it really does not lend itself towards quality sleep. I was falling apart and each night, I would dread the next day and all of the running about we had to do doing.

In December, we hired Nanny to come once a week for four hours. I no longer had to take Jax and Dex with me when I went shopping for groceries. I rarely stayed gone the four hours because Cars would not take a bottle and often needed to be fed right when I got back.

I remember the second or third week when Nanny was there, I was driving along on my way to Fred Meyer to shop when I had a feeling that I could not stop the car. I was paralyzed and was convinced that I would be physically unable to stop the car if I hit a red light. I was terrified. Fortunately, I hit every green light on the way to Fred Meyer but I knew then that I needed more than just Nanny help. I called my OB for help and was prescribed Zoloft and given a list of three counselors to call.

Stephen and I had plans for him to take his month paternity leave the next summer but I told him he had to take it NOW. This was in December but he had deliverables and we were not able to schedule his time off until February. Stephen also thought it was his duty to take it all on but that just made for a lot of tension between us.

Anyway, I started seeing my Crazy Doctor, did not take any meds because I was too afraid (of what? addiction to Zoloft? being out of control?). Anyway, in retrospect, I know if I had taken the meds I could have made my life a whole lot easier. It would have helped regular my brain chemistry much sooner than waiting for it to happen on its own. After two years, Crazy Doctor and I figured I was cured and we parted ways.

So, after my trip to crazy and back, as well as all of the issues like the stress of driving across bridges over water and peanuts and 504 plans and walnuts and pecans and tics and milk allergies and should I grow out my grey hair and I grew out my grey hair and anxiety and moving and worry and stuff, I am ready for me time. No more running around to pick kids up after these short two and half hour stints in preschool or 1/2 day K. I have plans for this coming school year to do things for me. I am lucky that I do not have the kind of husband who insists that I find a job now that all kids will be in school and I am very fortunate that we do not need for me to be working (although extra money would always be helpful - have you seen the price of gas?!).

Cars got into full-day kindergarten. I am one happy Pez.

Tuesday, June 03, 2008

My kids have been bickering a lot lately and it is driving me crazy! I told them they had better knock it off because once summer comes, they will be paying for their bickering by weeding the lawn. Of course, that is assuming that the nice weather will actually return. It is cold again - my heat turned back on today while I was out. Crazy!

We planted a garden last week but now I am sure the seeds will not germinate because it has been too cold. I was going to go to the local garden center to buy some tomato plants but I am afraid they will freeze on the vines! And we cannot move the basil plant outdoors for another couple of weeks or it will die.

Sunday, June 01, 2008

Yesterday was Dex's 8th birthday. He had a baseball game at 5pm then we went to Red Robin for dinner. We did not get there until 7:20 and did not get a table until 8! I was mad and we would have left except that Dex really, really, really wanted to eat there for his birthday dinner. The manager offered us free appetizers for the wait but we just wanted our entrees and to go home so he could open his gifts.

By the time we got home, it was way past their bedtimes and Dex did not want his "cake" (which was Nanaimo Bars) because he had a headache. He opened his gifts and went to bed. Poor boy. :(

Today was Little League Day at Safeco Field. I had purchased just two tickets, thinking that Stephen could take Dex down there with the rest of his team. Yesterday though, Jax expressed an interest in going which was HUGE because in the past, he has always been concerned about peanuts and peanut shells there. Anyway, Spy had two extra tickets since she and dd could not go so we bought them and Stephen took all three boys to the game. They all paraded on the field with a gazillion other Little Leaguers then watched the Mariners lose to the Tigers in the 9th inning. Stephen said Jax was amazing, he had to walk through a sea of peanut shells at one point and he barely even flinched (though he did want to wipe off his shoes later).

While they were at the game, I made new curtains for my kitchen. The yellow are the old and the blue/red striped are the new:


And another one over the sink:


I did not make them as full as the others were because I think it would have looked odd with the stripes. I am not in love with them so I will keep looking for curtains or fabric that I like better. I would rather the blue a bit more cobalt blueish.